Close Menu
Henley Festival
8-12thJuly 2020

Ian Brown - Conductor & Huw Wiggin - Saxophone

Sibelius - Karelia Suite

Wagner - Overture: Tannhäuser

J.S. Bach arr. Wiggin - Bach Violin Concerto in G minor, BWV 1056R, transcribed for Soprano Saxophone

Milhaud - Scaramouche

Tchaikovsky - Fantasy Overture: Romeo and Juliet

Dvorák - Slavonic Dance

Henley Symphony Orchestra is delighted to present its popular classical music concert for all ages in its home town on the Floating Stage. Since the orchestra’s formation in 1970 HSO has become one of the UK’s leading amateur orchestras attracting some 70 players drawn from across the Thames Valley.

The concert opens with the much-loved Karelia Suite by Sibelius, written in a mood of nationalistic fervour for this area of north-east Finland. The youthful passions of Wagner’s overture to his opera, Tannhäuser, transports us to the mythical mountain of Venusberg following the fortunes of the erring knight. In similar vein, Tchaikovsky’s Fantasy Overture, Romeo and Juliet, inspired by Shakespeare’s play of the same name, contains one of the most famous romantic melodies of all times. The concert comes to a triumphant conclusion with a whirling Slavonic Dance by Dvorak.

Sit back on the banks of the River Thames, watch the world float by and enjoy beautiful classical music played by Henley’s very own orchestra.

Learn more about Henley Symphony Orchestra's Henley-born soloist Huw Wiggin